SANDRA KIM 

BIOGRAPHY

Sandra Kim, was born as Sandra Caldarone in Montegnée (Liège) on October 15th, 1972.

 

On May 3, 1986, Sandra Kim won the "Eurovision Song Contest" in Bergen (Norway) representing Belgium with “J’aime la vie”. At the age of 13, she is the youngest winner in the history of the contest. The single immediately gets a double platinum disc. More than 350,000 singles are sold in Belgium, 1,400,000 around the world and the song is number 1 in the Belgian charts for several weeks. The same year, she participated in the Yamaha Tokyo Festival where she finished fourth together with Eros Ramazzotti. Afterwards both of them tour around Japan.

A few months later, Sandra is contacted to sing the title song of the cartoon “Il était une fois…”, written and composed by Michel Legrand. At the same time, she releases more singles and albums, receives several gold records and is invited to TV shows in Belgium and other countries such as the Netherlands, Germany, Luxembourg, France, Spain, Portugal, Switzerland, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Turkey, Romania, Israel, Japan and USA.

 

In 1990, on the occasion of the 60th birthday of King Baudouin and the 40th anniversary of his reign, Sandra performs together with Luc Steeno, in front of the royal family, one of his songs “J’aime mon pays” - Ik hou van mijn land ". In that same year she starts co-presenting musical show "10 qu’on aime“ on RTL TVI for a period of 2 years. Sandra is also part of the jury of the TV show "Pour la Gloire" on the Belgian national broadcaster RTBF. A year later, together with Helmut Lotti and Paul Michiels, she sings "Song for Kosovo" in three languages for the victims of the war.

 

In 1997, Sandra sets herself a new challenge by playing the role of Eponine in Victor Hugo’s musical "Les Miserables" in Antwerp.

In the beginning of the years 2000, her love for musicals got her the role of soloist in the show "Musicals from the heart 1 and 2", alongside Chris Van Tongelen and Jan Schepens, a spectacular show with a compilation of most beautiful songs from musicals like "Cats", "Grease", "Saturday Night Fever", "Fame", "Les Misérables", etc. In 2001, this show tours mainly around Flanders and the Netherlands.

 

In 2003, on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the coronation of King Albert II, Sandra and other artists bring the Belgians together through music. Two years later, she participates in the big Gala of the 50th anniversary of the "Eurovision Song Contest" in Copenhagen where she performed "No n'ho l'eta". Along with Micha Marah and Afi, Sandra launches in 2006 a new girls band "The SouldivaZ”. The singers perform the biggest soul hits. In 2008 “les Gauff" invite her to Francofolies de Spa to perform the famous song "Highway to hell".

 

In 2011, Sandra sang the national anthem in the three Belgian languages just before the start of the “Grand Prix Formule 1” in Spa-Francorchamps.  Olivier Monssens, director, contacts Sandra for the realization of a documentary "L'Autre vie" dedicated to the Eurovision Song Contest.  The programme is broadcasted on RTBF (La Deux) and is a big success.

 

2012. At the request of Stéphane Pauwels, Sandra agrees to talk about her private and professional life in “Les Orages de la Vie“ on RTL-TVI.  The show is a huge success!  On the 20th of July, the eve of the National Day, Sandra performs on stage together with Sam Gooris and Grand Jojo in the Marolles quarter in Brussels.

2013 is a good year for Sandra.  She is chosen to be one of the voices to interpret “Je t’aime tu sais / Ik hou van U" for the occasion of the Belgian National Day. In the Marolles quarter in Brussels she performs in front of the  new sovereign, King Philip.  With his wife Queen Mathilde and former royal couple Queen Paola and King Albert II, they applaud the artists on stage (Johan Verminnen, Udo, Lio ...).  A new challenge is offered to Sandra two months later, she becomes a radio host or rather a guest presenter on VivaCité in the morning show "The 8/9" of Benjamin Maréchal.  An enriching experience !

 

Sandra returns to television in 2014 on RTL-TVI for the summer show "Café Brazil".  With her friend Stéphane Pauwels, she becomes a sports columnist alongside Caroline Fontenoy, Bérénice and Emilie Dupuis.  In parallel to her TV activities, Sandra continues to sing in various places around Belgium.

 

Just take a look at her agenda and you’ll see that Sandra often invited to perform in the Netherlands. It is in Amsterdam that she is on stage in 2015 for the concert "Sing Along Festival”.  She is also invited to be the special guest for the annual Flemish Schlager Festival, one of the most awaited festival by audiences in the north of the country.

 

On the occasion of her 30-year career, Sandra has many projects for the year 2016. Together with Claude Rappé, former presenter on RTL-Télévision and nowadays a writer, she puts her memoirs in a book "Si j’avais su…”.  Joëlle Scoriels also invites her in her TV show ”69 Minutes Sans Chichis" on La Deux (RTBF).  Sandra also performs in Flanders on Radio 2 and Q-Music for the same occasion. RTL-TVI invites her to participate in a special program on the occasion of the commemoration of the 70th anniversary of Italian immigration to Belgium.  Accompanied by artists like Salvatore Adamo, Sandra performs a song in Italian with great emotion.

While continuing to perform throughout the country, Sandra participates in the charity show "Télévie" on RTL-TVI in 2017. In 2018 with she pays tribute to the Belgian singer Maurane together with Axelle Red and Salvatore Adamo.  Sandra starts a new music adventure with two musicians, Marco Z and Bejir Memeti. The italian show “Bella Italia" is born.  She sings the  famous Italian songs and travels around cultural centers and venues in Belgium together with her musicians...

 

2019. "Bella Italia" occupies most of her weekends.  Sandra also goes to the Forum de Liège for a new tribute to Maurane.  Then she goes off to Norway to interpret her famous song “J’aime la vie“. The public is present!  On the occasion of the 75th anniversary, Belgium’s biggest magazine Ciné-Télé-Revue contacts her to be part of a historical photo shooting of 75 faces of all generations that marked television.  A nice tribute to Sandra.

SANDRA KIM 

BIOGRAPHIE

Sandra Kim, née Sandra Caldarone, voit le jour à Montegnée (Liège) le 15 octobre 1972.

 

Le 3 mai 1986, Sandra Kim remporte le « Concours Eurovision de la Chanson » à Bergen (Norvège) en représentant la Belgique avec « J’aime la vie ». Du haut de ses 13 ans et demi, à ce jour, c’est la plus jeune gagnante de toute l’histoire du concours. En peu de temps, le single devient double disque de platine. Plus de 350.000 singles sont vendus en Belgique, 1.400.000 à travers le monde et numéro 1 du Top 50 Belge, et ce durant plusieurs semaines. La même année, elle participe au Yamaha Tokyo Festival où elle termine quatrième ex-aequo avec Eros Ramazzotti. Ensemble, ils partent en tournée à travers le Japon.

Quelques mois plus tard, Sandra est contactée pour chanter le générique du dessin animé « Il était une fois la vie », écrit et composé par Michel Legrand. Parallèlement, elle enchaine les singles, albums, disques d’or et prestations télévisées en Belgique mais aussi dans de nombreux pays tels que Pays-Bas, Allemagne, Luxembourg, France, Espagne, Portugal, Suisse, Norvège, Danemark, Suède, Finlande, Turquie, Roumanie, Israël, Japon et USA.

 

En 1990, à l'occasion du 60ème anniversaire du roi Baudouin et du 40ème anniversaire de son règne, Sandra interprète en duo avec Luc Steeno, devant la famille royale, une de ses chansons « J'aime mon pays - Ik hou van mijn land ». C’est aussi  l’année où elle co-présente durant deux années l’émission musicale « 10 qu’on aime » sur RTL TVI. Toujours dans le domaine de la télévision, Sandra fait partie, en 1996, du jury de l’émission « Pour la Gloire » sur la RTBF. Un an plus tard, en compagnie d’Helmut Lotti et Paul Michiels, ils interprètent en trois langues la chanson « Song for Kosovo » pour les victimes de la guerre.

 

1997 toujours, Sandra se lance un nouveau défi en participant à la comédie musicale « Les Misérables » de Victor Hugo et en y interprétant le rôle d’Eponine pendant plusieurs mois à Anvers.

Au début des années 2000, son enthousiasme pour les comédies musicales lui vaut le rôle de Soliste dans le spectacle « Musicals from the heart 1 et 2 », aux côtés de Chris Van Tongelen et de Jan Schepens, un show spectaculaire sous forme de compilation des plus belles chansons de comédies musicales (« Cats », « Grease », « Saturday Night Fever », « Fame », « Les Misérables », etc.). Cette superbe production tourne en 2001 principalement en Flandre et aux Pays-Bas. 

En 2003, à l’occasion du 10ème anniversaire du couronnement du Roi Albert II, Sandra et d'autres artistes rassemblent les Belges en chanson. Deux ans plus tard, elle participe au grand Gala du 50ème anniversaire du « Concours Eurovision de la Chanson » à Copenhague où elle interprète « No n'ho l’eta ». En compagnie de Micha Marah et Afi, Sandra se lance en 2006 dans un nouveau spectacle « The SouldivaZ » où les trois artistes chantent les plus grands hits du répertoire soul ! En 2008 les « Gauff » l’invitent au Francofolies de Spa pour y interpréter le célèbre titre « Highway to hell ».

En 2011, Sandra chante dans les trois langues du pays l'hymne national avant le départ du «Grand Prix de Formule 1 à Spa-Francorchamps». Olivier Monssens, réalisateur, contacte Sandra pour la réalisation d'un documentaire « L'Autre vie » consacré au Concours Eurovision de la Chanson. Le reportage est diffusé sur la RTBF (La Deux) avec beaucoup de succès.

2012. A la demande de Stéphane Pauwels, Sandra accepte de se confier et de parler de sa vie privée et professionnelle dans « Les Orages de la Vie » sur RTL-TVI. L'émission est un carton d'audience ! Pour le 20 juillet, la veille de la Fête Nationale, c'est dans le quartier des Marolles à Bruxelles que Sandra se produit avec Sam Gooris et Le Grand Jojo.

L'année 2013 porte bonheur à Sandra. Elle est choisie pour être une des voix à interpréter «(Je vous aime) Je t’aime tu sais/Ik hou van U» le 20 juillet à l'occasion de la Fête Nationale Belge, toujours dans le quartier des Marolles, mais surtout devant un parterre royale pour le règne du nouveau souverain, le roi Philippe. Avec son épouse la reine Mathilde et l'ancien couple royal Paola et Albert II, ils applaudissent les artistes présents sur scène (Johan Verminnen, Udo, Lio...). Un nouveau challenge s'offre à Sandra deux mois plus tard, celui d'animatrice radio ou plutôt chroniqueuse sur VivaCité dans l'émission matinale « Le 8/9 » de Benjamin Maréchal. Une expérience enrichissante !

Sandra renoue avec la télévision en 2014 sur RTL-TVI dans l'émission estivale « Café Brazil ». Avec son ami Stéphane Pauwels, elle devient chroniqueuse sportive aux côtés de Caroline Fontenoy, Bérénice et Emilie Dupuis. Parallèlement à la télé, Sandra continue à chanter dans divers endroits de la Belgique, pour son plus grand plaisir.

Il suffit de voir son agenda, Sandra est très demandée aux Pays-Bas. C'est à Amsterdam qu'elle se produit en 2015 pour le concert « Sing Along (Feest) Festival». Elle est aussi appelée à être « guest » pour le concert annuel flamand « Schlager Festival », un des plus attendus par les spectateurs du nord du pays.

A l'occasion de ses 30 ans de carrière, Sandra fourmille de projets pour l'année 2016. Contactée par Claude Rappé, ancien présentateur sur RTL-Télévision aujourd'hui écrivain, il lui propose de coucher ses souvenirs dans un livre « Si j'avais su ». Joëlle Scoriels l'invite également dans « 69 Minutes Sans Chichis » sur la Deux (RTBF) pour parcourir sa carrière. Sandra se produit aussi en Flandre sur Radio 2 et Q-Music pour le même événement. RTL-TVI l'invite à participer à une émission spéciale à l'occasion de la commémoration du 70e anniversaire de l'immigration italienne en Belgique. Accompagnée d'artistes dont Salvatore Adamo, Sandra interprète une chanson en italien avec une grande émotion.

Tout en continuant à se produire un peu partout dans le pays, Sandra participe à l'oeuvre caritative de RTL-TVI « Télévie » en 2017. Rebelote en 2018 avec en plus, un hommage à Maurane en compagnie d'Axelle Red et Salvatore Adamo. Un nouveau projet musical voit le jour pour Sandra. Avec deux musiciens, Marco Z et Bejir (Meneti) Memeti, elle créé un nouveau concept italien « Bella Italia ». Le succès est immédiatement assuré et elle parcourt avec ses musiciens la Belgique...

2019. « Bella Italia » occupe la majeure partie de ses week-ends. Sandra se rend également au Forum de Liège pour un nouvel hommage à Maurane. Ensuite, direction la Norvège pour interpréter son fameux « J'aime la vie ». Le public répond présent ! A l'occasion de son 75e anniversaire, le magazine Ciné-Télé-Revue la contacte pour faire partie d'une photo historique regroupant 75 visages qui ont marqué la télévision, toutes générations confondues. Un bel hommage pour Sandra.